Update – I sold Career Geek. Thank you and Goodbye.

I sold Career Geek Blog.

I ran the blog from 2011-2015. The blog has found a new owner for the site and now, I can publicly say, the blog is no more mine or me. Having run it for 4 years, I thought it was only fair, I updated you, my readers, friends and supporters. It’s been crazy, stressful and amazing.

Firstly – why did I sell?

I started the blog when I had graduated and was fresh out of university, with a wee bit more time than I have now. I love blogging, I love writing, I am a writer, a story teller and content creator. I found a gap in the UK market and plugged it with my blog. However, after 4 years you are not a “start-up” or “new kid on the block”. You are judged against heavy weights and pro bloggers – and there is nothing worse than overstaying your welcome anywhere, even online. Since August 2014, I’ve looked at reducing commitment on the blog and eventually this year I decided it’s best to hand over the blog to someone who has the knowledge and a plan to grow the asset.

It was time for the Pro’s to come in. And they have. It’s time for me to move on. This is the best outcome, instead of letting the blog to die and all that information going offline (since it takes time and money to run the blog).

Bottom line, I think the new owner will offer more than what I did. It was time for my exit.

Secondly – now what will I do?

I don’t have anything in mind, apart from 1000 other things to do with my life. Having put crazy amount of hours in this project over past few years, I am going to take a break. I learnt a lot and now it is time to take a step back and go over all the lessons.

Having said that, if you have a project, please let me know – I’d love to hear about it. I know a few of you are doing some great things whether that is STEM in schools, playing in a band or evening running your own blog… keep doing that. And I am here to discuss anything you may want to discuss.

Lastly – I was the face of the blog, but so many people helped me.

I wrote close to 400 articles for the blog and have bombarded you with a lot of articles (on facebook). But it wouldn’t be possible without the support of some awesome people.

Asya, Alina, Jimmy, Matt, Zoe, Gillian, Simi… you have helped me at various stages. You are amazing. I didn’t get a chance to ever meet any of you. However when our paths cross, I owe you a drink, at the least!

And you, my friend, thank you for reading the blog. I’ve had some great feedback from you. Without you, the blog wouldn’t be able to achieve what it did:

  • 2015 – Official Blog Partner of UK National Careers Week
  • Top 20 Expert Contributing to 8 Week Online Course for New Grads
  • Top 150 Career and Leadership Blog of 2014
  • Top 14 Blogs To Follow For Careers 2014
  • Contributing blog and Panel speaker for Guardian careers Q&A
  • One of first Global 1000 Partners to Launch with Google Helpouts
  • + more…

Thank you. And do let me know if you have a comment. You’ve been a lovely bunch of people.

Keep reading Career Geek 🙂

Leave a comment